About UPSC Civil Services Exam

UPSC  (Union Public Service Commission) Civil Services Exams are being conducted every year in India to fill prestigious posts like IAS (Indian Administrative Service), IPS (Indian Police Service), IFS (Indian Foreign Service), IRS (Indian Revenue Service) and many other union government services.


Ads by Google


upsc civil servicesUPSC Civil Services Exam Eligibility:

Educational Qualification:

Any degree holder (or degree final year students who can get the degree by July of the exam year) from any recognized University in any discipline with any percentage is eligible

Age Qualification:

A general category candidate must have attained the age of 21 years and must not have attained the age of 30 years on 1st August of the exam year.

OBC/SC/ST/PH category candidates can avail age relaxation

Attempts limit:

General category candidates can attempt the exams up to 4 times (applying and not appearing for any paper does not count as an attempt.  Appearing for one or more papers count as an attempt.

OBC/PH category candidates can attempt the exams up to 7 times. SC/ST candidates can attempt any number of times as long as their age limit is within the eligibility range.

The Civil Services Exam is conducted in three phases.

Phase I: CSAT (Civil Services Aptitude Test) in May or June

Phase II: Mains (Civil Services Mains) in Oct/Nov

Phase III: Personality test (interview) in Feb/Mar of the following year

UPSC Civil Services Exam Pattern:

The UPSC Civil Services Exam is conducted in two stages Prelims and Mains which are then followed by an interview.

UPSC Civil Services Exam Scheme:

Civil Services Preliminary Examination (Objective type) for the selection of candidates for the Main Examination; and

Civil Services Main Examination (Written and Interview) for the selection of candidates for the various Services and post. The Preliminary Examination consists of two papers of Objective type (multiple choice questions) each of 200 marks and carries a total of 400 marks.

1. Preliminary Examination   

There are two compulsory papers of 200 marks each in the Civil Services Prelims Exam.

Important Points:

Both the question papers are of the objective type (multiple choice questions) of two hours each.

The question papers will be set both in Hindi and English. However, questions relating to English Language Comprehension skills would be provided only in English.

Blind candidates would be allowed an extra 20 minutes of timeat each paper.

2. Main Examination   

The written examination will consist of the following papers:


Section 1 Essay 200 Marks

Section 2 English Comprehension & English Précis 100 Marks (The level of paper would be Matriculation/ Xth standard level)


General Studies– 250Marks (Indian Heritage and Culture, History and Geography of the World and Society)


General Studies –II 250 Marks (Governance, Constitution, Polity, Social Justice and International relations)


General Studies –III 250 Marks (Technology, Economic Development, Bio-diversity, Environment, Security and Disaster Management)


General Studies –IV 250 Marks (Ethics, Integrity and Aptitude)


Optional Subject – Paper 1 250 Marks


Optional Subject – Paper 2 250 Marks

Total marks from written test: 1800 Marks

Personality Test (Interview): 275 Marks

The Civil Services Examination consists of two successive stages –

The question papers are set both in Hindi and English. Each paper is of two hours duration. Blind candidates are allowed extra time of twenty minutes for each paper.

UPSC Civil Services Exam Syllabus

Syllabus of Paper I – (200 marks)

Duration: Two hours

Current events of national and international importance History of India and Indian National Movement Indian and World Geography-Physical, Social, Economic Geography of India and the World Indian Polity and Governance-Constitution, Political System, Panchayati Raj, Public Policy, Rights Issues, etc.

Economic and Social Development-Sustainable Development, Poverty, Inclusion, Demographics, Social Sector Initiatives, etc

General issues on Environmental ecology, Bio-diversity and Climate Change – that do not require subject specialization and Climate Change – that do not require subject specialization

Syllabus for Paper II- (200 marks)

Duration: Two hours

Interpersonal skills including communication skills;

Logical reasoning and analytical ability

Decision making and problem solving

General mental ability

Basic numeracy (numbers and their relations, orders of magnitude, etc) (Class X level), Data interpretation (charts, graphs, tables, data sufficiency etc. – Class X level)


It is mandatory for the candidate to appear in both the Papers of Civil Services (Prelim) Examination for the purpose of evaluation. Therefore a candidate will be disqualified in case he/she does not appear in both the papers of Civil Services (Prelim) Examination.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!